Attempting to install MOST4Linux 1.0.0 under Ubuntu – Part 1

Earlier on today, I decided to see if I could build the Media-Oriented Systems Transport protocol stack from the MOST4Linux project under Ubuntu 11.04.

However, it was originally designed for earlier versions of the Linux kernel than 2.6.38; and is no longer actively maintained by its developers – which makes compiling, and using it a challenge.

When I initially attempted to build the code, after downloading and extracting the most recent source code archive, the build process failed with:

By making a number of modifications to the source code and build scripts, I was eventually able to reach this stage:

Unfortunately, I’m unsure of the best way to continue – so I’ve decided to dump my modified code on BitBucket.

Those curious about my modifications to achieve the aforementioned result can deduce them from the “reversed” difference list – which was created by adding my modified version of the code into a special branch in a new Mercurial repository (“Initial_Ubuntu_Port_Attempt“), and then retroactively importing the original version of the code into yet another branch (“Original_Code“).

When I get the chance, I’ll probably document how I arrived at that conclusion, and share some resources that I discovered along the way.

Explore posts in the same categories: Everything

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

